top of page
Search
  • jvquay

A Few Regrets

(Photo by the author)


January 5, 2022 IWSG Blog Post


What do I wished I'd done differently in my writing career?


Start earlier! Not that I haven't noodled around with writing since childhood. But only in the last five years have I really dug in deep. Teamed up with a writing buddy, jumped into Nanowrimo, joined a writing community, made this a priority in my life.


Of course, it didn't help that I'd chosen foodservice as a career. A regular suck hole of spare time and energy. Only in the last two years have I finally landed a foodservice job that pays the bills AND gives me regular days off.


Looking back, though, I realize that if I'd chosen writing for a career, I'd probably still would have turned to foodservice or some other job to pay the bills.


And if I had started writing seriously earlier in my life, what life lessons or experiences would I have accurately been able to share? This old head needed all that ripening, patience, and mileage to get my stories going.


At least, that's the story I'm telling myself today! Happy 2022, Blog Hoppers!

40 views9 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page