top of page
Search
  • jvquay

A Joyful Noise ---How audiobooks changed my reading (and working) life.





In 2001, my husband and I opened our very own cafe/bakery in New Jersey.


The hours were long, as expected, made longer by a lack of decent radio reception in the building we worked out of. Radio call-in shows were not my thing, and the one oldies station we found had a library of about fifteen songs.


One of our employees (also tired of static, talk radio, and hearing the song Brandy played twenty times a day) gifted us a portable CD/ cassette player, which saved the day.


But when I baked alone through the overnights, music, I found, wasn't the best company. I missed the human voice. Found myself making up voice characters and using them to call up and respond to the overnight radio DJ. Not the best use of my time.


My local reference librarian suggested audiobooks to keep me company through a night of solo baking. I had my doubts. Not sure my attention would last through seven-plus hours of narration.


Eureka! Magic! Not only did my favorite stories jump to life, kindness of great narrators, but I discovered so many new books this way. To my further surprise, I remembered much more of a story's details when I listened to a book than I ever did by physically reading one.


Where had this been all my life?


Since then, I've built my own audiobook collection, learned to borrow digital audiobooks from the library, even took a course on how to narrate audiobooks. More than half of what I read over the course of a year is on audio.


I even follow certain narrators, borrowing titles I wouldn't otherwise pick, but worth a listen to hear those beloved voices.


Some of my favorites?


Frank Muller --Especially his version of A

Tale of Two Cities


George Guidall

Can make a grocery list sound like a good story.


William Hurt

His interpretation of Stephen King's Hearts in Atlantis made this one of my all-time favorite books.


Will Patton

His voicing all the characters in James Lee Burke's Dave Robicheaux series will keep you listening in the car long after you've parked.


Bahni Turpin

My favorite female narrator. Warm, rich voice.


Toni Morrison

Her reading of her own Beloved vaulted this book to my top ten list.


Scott Brick

A great hard-boiled detective voice, but he brings several genres to life.



And many more!


I still dream of making my own book into an audio version one day. I'll have to finish it first, so ...


...back to writing!


Happy ISG Day!




13 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Few Regrets

(Photo by the author) January 5, 2022 IWSG Blog Post What do I wished I'd done differently in my writing career? Start earlier! Not that I haven't noodled around with writing since childhood. But on

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page